News Blurbs: Upcoming Light Novel Adaptations (+ Ikoku Meiro)



So it’s been a while since I collected enough news articles to put a post together with the usual four this time. I am especially excited for Ikoku Meiro no Croisée, by the same mangaka who drew the illustrations for Gosick.

Just to make it clear, the author of Gosick is Kazuki Sakuraba, not Hinata Takeda. Hinata Takeda is the artist as well as original creator of Ikoku Meiro (I’m shortening to this for now).

Uh, so, yea, moving along…


Ikoku Meiro no Croisée




Sources: Main Site, ANN

Translated in French as “La croisée dans un labyrinthe étranger” (“The crossroads in the foreign labyrinth”, pls excuse my amateur French *rusty*), Hinata Takeda’s manga actually only spans two volumes…which is not much to go on for a single season run if you think about it. Then again, I only read the first few chapters so I really have no idea how thick the volumes are.

If there’s not enough, I’m guessing they’re going to put more anime-original content in. Knowing that the ones responsible for this project is Satelight, it’s really nothing to worry about. Cuz it’s Satelight. Yeck. -_-;

But even with an average studio behind it (aka prepare yourself for inconsistency hell in animation), it still looks as promising as a 19th-century slice-of-life can get. Yes, I’m pretty sure it’s a slice-of-life and you can go check Ivy Scans for what they have scanlated so far to confirm for yourselves.

The plot seems cute enough. Pfft, I mean, wow, Europe becoming intrigued by Japanese culture isn’t so much different than how Westerners today are. xD;

Anyways, the way I see it, it’s kind of a little Gosick-reversed minus all the mystery. Japanese girl (aka the most adorable little Yamato Nadeshiko you will ever come across, KYAA~! YUNE~~!!!! x3333) comes to France and stays there for a while. Except it’s not for school, it’s to work. Her homestay host, Claude, is a blacksmith and knows little to nothing about her country much less her culture. So during her stay, they get to learn from one another and that’s the basic gist of it.

There’s also an Japanese-obsessed Oujo-sama who wants to buy Yune off of Claude because she’s so cute. LOL xDDD;;;

So, this will is scheduled to be out in July. I’m praying that Satelight will at least put in some effort to live up to Hinata Takeda’s beautiful art. Really, if it’s pretty, you shouldn’t make it look like crap. That’s just sad. :(

At least I’m somewhat reassured that Junichi Sato (Sailor Moon, Aria, Princess Tutu) will be supervising the story and soundtrack but that doesn’t mean he’s chief director and…well, you just go find out who’s chief editor. *frowns* >:(

On another note, it’s guaranteed that I will probably blog this. Had originally to retire episodic blogging after Gosick was done but I guess not. Go figure. I’ll be in Hong Kong for study abroad during the time it airs but it shouldn’t take me too long to write something up each week. ;)

Haa~, yep. I’m excited. And I’m pretty sure those who want to watch this now are, too. Especially if this type of anime is right down your alley…or if you love European settings, learning about Japanese culture and/or the gorgeous kimino wardrobe that Yune has…or if you just want to kidnap Yune for yourself (which you can’t cuz I already did, hahaha!)…or all of the above.

Yes, LGB, if you’re reading this, I’m looking at you. *smirky glare* >=)



Kami-sama no Memo-chō

Source: ANN (article), Wiki

Description:

An insert from ASCII Media Works’ Dengeki Bunko imprint has announced that an anime adaptation of Hikaru Sugii’s Kami-sama no Memo-chō mystery light novel series has been green-lit. The story centers around a “NEET (Not in Education, Employment, or Training) detective” girl named Alice and her assistant, a high school freshman boy named Narumi Fujishima.


Hmm, “God’s Memo Pad”, eh? Well, the premise sounds interesting and I like mysteries quite a bit. Which is an understatement cuz I feel like all I’ve been doing is chasing mystery plots for more than a year already but hell, why not? lol |D;

Other than that, I don’t know much about this series yet but some of chapter 1 has been translated so I might go read it later when I have the time. Don’t have any clue when it will broadcast or what so going to have to wait till ANN updates a page for that as well.

In the meantime, going to see if I can find these drama CDs to see how the cast is.

…why do I get the feeling that J.C. Staff is going to animate this? God, I kinda hope not. >.<;



Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

Source: ANN (article)

Description:

The February Gahō flyer insert from Shogakukan’s Gagaga Bunko imprint has announced that an anime project is in the works for Romeo Tanaka’s Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita light novel series.

The story is set several centuries into the slow decline of mankind. Earth has now become the realm of “fairies” — 10-centimeter-tall (about 4-inch-tall) creatures with remarkable intelligence and an appetite for sweets. The human protagonist of the story serves an important duty as the international arbitrator between the fairies and humans, and she returns to her former hometown of Kusunoki. She chose this job because she thought it was an easy job she can do, even when she is as old as her grandfather. However, she learns that her job is anything but simple when she meets the fairies.

Promotional trailers for light novels only. Watch at your own risk. No, I’m serious. It’s like 5 minutes of the same goddamn repeated lines. -_-;

First chapter translated here, too.

Not that I have read it yet and to be honest, not sure if I want to. This caught my attention because the girl on the cover reminded me of Chii from Chobits. Then I read about how this apocalypse and fairies and whatnot and think it all seems like a pleasant stroll in the park in comparison to Hakushaku to Yousei, which has an actual plot to it. Don’t know about this one. Really don’t. I’ve heard some people question whether making an adaptation of this is even possible since it’s mostly “monologues” or something.

So again, I’m holding off on reading anything more about it until I see the actual anime. From current impressions, it seems very boring but I’d like to see how the animation will be done. =/



Itsuka Tenma no Kuro-Usagi

Source: Main Site, ANN, article 1, article 2, Wiki

Description (from manga adaptation):

Taito has been really sleepy lately, and keeps dreaming of a particular vampire who says she has given him her “poison”. Sometimes he even thinks he hallucinates her voice when he’s awake. But after surviving an accident that should have killed him, Taito’s world changes drastically and he realizes that his dreams are more real than he thought.

Reactions:

Saw the cover art: “Interesting…”
Saw the trailer: “Ooooo, purdy~!”
Read the word “vampire” –> Considering backing out on this whole thing now.

However, I don’t want to judge so quickly based on that. It doesn’t look to be anything ground-breaking, there’ll probably be tons of cliches to rival the spectrum of colors in lil Ms. Vamp’s hair and everyone might turn out to be annoying by the end of the day (well, I dunno, just saying…).

But I’m willing to give this a shot for the heck of it. At the very least, I can’t resist looking at things for the art so maybe I will check out the manga as well.

Until then, I’ll just wait for the trailers. *yawn*


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Hrm, one thing to blog this summer if they intend to follow their original and/or updated schedule. The rest are up in the air until further notice. Let’s hope for the best.

3 thoughts on “News Blurbs: Upcoming Light Novel Adaptations (+ Ikoku Meiro)

  1. First off, I wanted to say: HAVE FUN IN HONG KONG!!! I totally forgot to mention that when you first mentioned it. ^^;

    Anyway, you know me very well, hehe. ^u^ I was reading the description of Ikoku Meiro no Crosiee, and I was like, “This is right up my alley!” I haven’t even looked at the PV yet, but the characters, cute premise alone, and the artwork all seem okay with me (for right now anyway).

    Ah, and oh Satelight, you brought us together with one of your series, but also with that series came rage and annoyance, so please Satelight…Don’t mess up on this one!!

    The other series look cute, though the vampire one I’m staying away from and the one with fairies…Meh, I’ll probably check it out just for the heck of it. Though I really don’t know what to expect from it. o.O;

    And now, I am going to sleep. Curse you classes tomo-I mean, later today! T0T

  2. I believe I first came across Ikoku Meiro no Croisée on the Nico live stream of the WonFest (BECAUSE THERE WAS NOTHING WONFEST-RELATED AIRING WHEN I GOT TO IT /flips table). It looked like my thing so I immediately went to read all the chapters (shh I know I can’t Chinese) and gushed over it like mad. It’s so adorable and just makes me feel warm inside! A similar feeling to when I read Chibi-san Date although Ikoku Meiro will never beat Chibide in terms of storytelling. ;__;
    But not really looking forward to the anime because of ugh…Satelight. I’m not exactly fond of those character designs either.

    Ahh the Memopad thinger. I only care about that for Kishida Mel’s illustrations~ And Kotobuki Minako voicing Alice. And Okamoto Nobuhiko somewhere in there.
    …Goodness I hope it’s not JC Staff. ;__;

    I love the art for the Jinrui novel! Looks interesting.

  3. It’s a pity people are judging Itsuten based on some inaccurate summaries from certain sites. what’s more, some of the manga chapters are wrongly translated. Vampire is just a term for a race. They are not bloodsuckers or have any conventional vampire qualities. In fact, in the novel, the word is Most Ancient Sorcerers, but read as vampire with the furigana. They are in fact a race of powerful sorcerers. I think my synopsis at baka-tsuki sounds more interesting :P
    http://www.baka-tsuki.org/project/index.php?title=Itsuka_Tenma_no_Kuro_Usagi

Comments are closed.