SoMT ’09 Main Tournament ~ Stage 1, Round 1

Alright, this thing is still alive!

POLL CLOSED. Results up by Thursday or Friday.

I’m terribly sorry, minna-san! I had planned to get back to this at the beginning of this month but school and finals really took all the energy out of me and I couldn’t function right cuz of allergy season. Sick Xiao = do not want to do anything. I’ve also been experiencing a bit of a slump (along with big fat procrastination-distraction syndrome) in regards to everything lately cuz it’s summer and I have summer courses and I really don’t want to do anything but stay home and lounge around but I’ll have to get up at 6 AM three days a week just to go out to NY. *heavy sigh* The bright side, though, I’ll still have a good amount of free time to do what I want so hopefully I won’t get too much hwk and will be awake enough to focus on the tournament. I’m organizing round 2 and another blog post as I type this right now.

Not very good excuses to give and I deeply apologize again. I’ll try my best to get this all underway and smoothly as possible. If not, more apologies in advance. URGH! *wrings head*

Yep, so I just wanted to say that and…my co-hosts, are you all still well and alive? I’ll be contacting you with a prompt soon. I just need to choose which one…well, I’ll mention more in a later blog post, too, so whichever comes first. That or email. Heh. ^^;

Ok, now read the instructions and rules and don’t break them.


Main Tournament


The main tournament consists of two stages. Stage 1 has now officially started as of May 24th and will run for 6 rounds.


Stage 1 ~ Sakura Circle

Only the top 18 girls will proceed to Stage 2.

Contestants who have passed the prelims are randomly arranged onto their own respective sakura petal.

Voting Instructions

  • There will be 5 main rounds and 1 special round.
  • Each round (except for the last special round) contains 3 duels and will last for 3 days.
  • For each respective duel, you may only vote for ONE girl and you may only vote her ONCE!

  • Wildcard Round

    This round’s purpose is to determine the last 3 girls who will move onto Stage 2 along with the 15 winners from the first five main rounds, and thereby, making the total number of passing contestants 18.

    • There will be three 5-way knockouts and this round will last for 5 days. The 15 girls who lost in the first five main rounds are randomly arranged into those knockout spots.
    • For each respective knockout, you may only vote for ONE girl out of the five and you may only vote her ONCE!

RULES

  • The most important one of all: Read through everything (the instructions, the rules, etc) carefully. And I mean, everything.
  • Do NOT vote for more than 1 girl in each respective duel/knockout and do NOT vote for your choice more than once!
  • It is not required for you to vote for every match. Just vote in the ones you want to.
  • Please vote fairly and let the girls compete fairly. I will NOT tolerate any form of cheating. If it comes to the point where I can’t control it, I will either eliminate that competitor from the tournament or if worst comes to worst, I’ll shut this whole thing down. This is a contest made by a fan and not going in any official books except for ěk-sěn’trĭk’s archives. So be smart and don’t make me or the rest of the fans out there angry just because you want a certain girl to win.
  • Commenting: This will be in every set of rules for every single round. You are allowed to give as much support to a contestant as much as you want (to a reasonable degree). You are allowed to critically compare her with her opponent(s) as long as you do it civilly and have legitimate reasons to back your argument up. But any kind of childish bashing towards any of the contestants or other commenters will be marked as spam.
    I would very much appreciate it if we can avoid this problem. People are going to have different opinions and different candidates they will support. Please respect that. If you must be a fanbrat, then do it somewhere else where I can’t see you. I don’t want ridiculous immature remarks or wars littering all over my comments.
  • If you have any questions regarding anything about the tournament, please don’t hesitate to leave it in a comment or email me at eksentrick.xiaojie@gmail.com. I will try my best to reply back to you as soon as I can.
  • Have fun voting and enjoy the tournament! ^^

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now that we got all that out of the way, here is the selection for round 1 highlighted in blue:

Yep, we’re starting with the inner circle first. Then after we finish round 2, the flowers will rotate and the next set of duels will follow. But you’ll see all this later when we actually get to it.

ROUND 1 WILL END ON WEDNESDAY, MAY 27th!

& no, sorry, I’m not going to provide a bigger, better resolution of this roster cuz I did it all by hand and it looks extremely awful up close. Agh~, I need to work on this. Dx
But I think it’s large enough that you can notice who’s who and see the highlighted petals without a problem. At least on my laptop here it does (and I’m using IE right now, ugh…). Tell me if you don’t…but it’s not going to matter much cuz the poll’s already on the bottom.

That being said…


LET THE VOTING COMMENCE!

Thank you for voting and look forward to the next round! ^^

11 thoughts on “SoMT ’09 Main Tournament ~ Stage 1, Round 1

  1. Yay~ The next stage of the tournament has started. Of course I wouldn’t say anything to put any pressure on you (you do too much of that yourself, even having unnecessary panicking about shipping), but I was waiting for this~ Totally surprised me seeing this post in my reader when I don’t remember any tweets about you working on the post, which I’m used to. Sneaky~

    Psh. And I think anything having to do with real life is a good excuse. Even if it’s just, “I really didn’t feel like it.” lol

    Oh and before I forget, I just want to tell you how much I always love reading your rules and your threats for those that don’t follow them. Partially because I totally believe you’ll follow through with your threats and I want to be around when someone does eventually break the rules and you find them. lol

    Now then, the voting~ And oh my god you gave us permission to pimp out the girls in the comments (at least to a reasonable degree).

    Hmm, well with Dual 1, I’m going to have to go with Maria. I mean I think I even nominated that little bundle of loli darkness~ It’s a shame that most of the moe I associate with her is from the anime and not so much the manga. Though there was that one great scene with her getting embarrassed about talking to her father. So cute Maria~ I mean I haven’t even watched Angelique except maybe five minutes of the first episode. But if I compare the first five minutes where each girl appears in each anime Maria still outweighs Angelique. Maniuplative crying is super moe to me now.

    Dual 2 I’m going to skip for now. I think Yuki matches that helpless moe, but I don’t like her so I’m not going to vote for her. And I can’t vote for Rahzel until I’ve watched at least one episode of Hatenkou Yuugi and I’m not going to vote for Rahzel until I’ve watched at least one episode of Hatenkou Yuugi. One episode will be easy to watch before Wednesday so I’ll be coming back to make my decision.

    Dual 3…Iru’s chibi tsundere outweighs Kirari stuffing her face. That’s really the only thing I can remember about Kirarin Revolution. I mean she was kind of cute, but she never struck me as moe~ That takes a different level of cuteness.

    Ohoho~ I’m going to be looking forward to seeing the results and the future rounds. God I love tournaments. They bring out my competitive side in full force. Already right now I can go, “Agh! Angelique above Maria does not make me a happy girl!” Don’t make me get one of Maria’s curse dolls people!

  2. Eh? But I did tweet this! xD Then again, I like being sneaky, too, so yes I’m sneaky~ \3

    Yay~, when you say that, I feel much better. lol

    Awesome! I’m so going to have a lot of fun if anyone dares step out of line and pisses me off. My wrath is one to be reckoned with. *wags finger*

    Of course! Are we not moe-enthusiasts? Pimp them as much as you want! XDDD

    But thanks so much for sharing your opinions for all your votes! I had a lot of fun reading them. Well, then again, it’s always fun reading what you write but you know what I mean. ;D
    Anyway, hehe, they were totally you and just awesome.

    Yep, I’m glad you’re all hyped up, excited and most of all starting to let that competitive side out. I’ll be sure to email you the prompt asap. This will be fun~ >;3

  3. You did tweet this??? How in the world did I miss it??? D:

    But I’m super stoked that the main tournament has started!!

    And the image is fantastic! I love that they’re in sakura flowers for the sakura round, it’s an adorable touch! : D

  4. *just finished voting that is biased*
    Is it bad that I voted for this girl because I didn’t know the other? :(

    Yay! It’s the main tournament already~

    I like how creative you are with this competition; the sakura round is so fun~ Plus, just like kelakagandy said, it’s adorable too. It looks so moe X3

    I’m looking forward for the next ^w^

    Good luck! <33

  5. Oh thank gawd the main tourney is finally here. I couldn’t take any more of those ninjas killing a bunny for each day that passes by without word from SOMT!

    I totally (trust me, when I say totally, I mean totally to the infinity squared) understand what you mean by getting up early a good number of days in a week just to commute to some place you wished you could’ve ditched. Like I always say, take it easy XD. Your co-hosts are here…well at least I’m here (I don’t know about those other two *ahem* lol jk) to lend you a hand. Contacting us with a prompt? Sure! I’m always around (yes, I’m apparently everywhere..bwahahahaha), so feel free to give me a ring.

    Yes, rules must be enforced to the strictest degree. Actually, I [evil 7] am dying to bash the first idiot who breaks the rules, so would you be so kind to inform us if such an idiot passes by? XD

    My god..I’m going to have a hard time voting since it’s been a while I referred to my Moe code. -_-

  6. Yay~ The main tournament finally starts! I love the Roster Picture ^^. Now I’m feeling the “Fierce”-ness of the competition~ And Sakura commemoration ftw~!

    Haha lawl~ just like what 7 said, we’re everywhere.. Twitter, E-mail, etc.. ^^ so feel free to command us! I’m excited for what will I do next *gets pretty prepared*.

  7. Maria~! So cute. =w= *votes*

    This must be a lot of work so I’m going to go ahead and say… good luck! ^^
    It’s fun to vote for characters like this. Especially when it’s good characters that got neglected in Saimoe. =3

    Uueee… don’t stress yourself too much now. You’re doing a pretty good job so far though. Keep it up~ This’ll be lots of fun. :’D

  8. Ooh, yay! More SoMT…(By the way, I’ve wanted to comment on your blog, but I haven’t had much time lately because of RL too. ^^;; ) Anyways, right now a lot of people are busy with school. The end of the year can get pretty stressful. I’ve had the same thing happening to me (procrastinating, don’t-want-to-do-anything, school…). ;]

    The Sakura Circle is a cute and clever way to do the rounds. ^_^ So innovative!

    I voted for Maria since…I love her more and I think she’s considered more “moe” being a child (I often find anime kids “moe”) Plus, I’ve never watched Neo Angelique Abyss. xD

    I skipped the second match since I don’t really watch either of the series, and I’m not really a fan of either.

    And Iru, since she’s a chara! xD She’s just much more of the cool moe, and I’m not much of a Kirarin fan…

  9. Kel-san: Arigato~! <3

    I'm glad you like it! It's a tribute to our moe princess, after all. ;D

    ~~~

    kirapika: No, it’s perfectly fine to do that. I’m not even familiar with half of these girls so I just vote for the ones I know better. As long as you don’t vote out of spite, it’s A-ok. :)

    Thank you~! <3
    Shoujo moe, ne? :D

    Thanks again for voting! ^^

    ~~~

    7-san:What?! They were killing bunnies?! O.O! Noooo!!! Forgive me, bunnies! ;____; …lol XD;

    I know you do. ^^
    & I’ll try to. Usually, I hear people telling me that summer courses don’t really give out a lot of work anyways and I hope that’s true. If anything, it will only be 6 weeks. Not too bad.
    And thanks! I’ll do that today. And you call me a stalker. :P lol

    Haha~ Sure~ I give my judges special privileges to do just that. >:D

    Take your time. ^^

    ~~~

    kanzie:Oho~, it will be FIERCE! alright. The race is pretty close between all of them. >x3

    Awesome! I’m sending it now then. ^^

    ~~~

    Lea-chan: It is but it’s worth it. And thanks for the encouragement! ^^

    Haha, I’ll try…but I like thinking that this kind of stress is enjoyable. XD;

    ~~~

    blossomgirl101: Aww, that’s fine. I totally understand. School sucks. Meh. But it’ll be over before you know it so good luck! :)

    Hehe, thank you! ^^
    I liked your choices as well. Can’t wait to see who you’ll vote for in the next round ;D

  10. How did I miss this?

    Duel 1:

    Maria-chan all the way. Creepy semi goth girls who have crushes on 20 year old movie stars and who admire and love awesome girls, are awesome. Also she has the cutest smile and you want to hug so much during her sad scenes.

    Duel 2:

    Pass. I don’t know enough about Hatenkou andthe less said about Yuuki from VK the better.

    Duel 3:

    Iru! Or the represenition of Utau’s badass, tsundere side. During episodes 41-43 she was so adorable when she worrying about Utau. Her relationship with Eru is made of win on so many levels. Plus she seems like the jerkish tomboy with a heart of gold type, which I find interesting.

    Don’t wear yourself out on this okay.

  11. Oh yeah. Shojo Sai Moe will get an ad in Shugo Chara Weekly World News this week.

Comments are closed.