SoMT ’09 Preliminaries

Alrighty~!

Ack, sorry for not posting the rules yesterday but when I came home I was really, really dead tired. So please understand that there might be a few delays in the voting schedules depending on how much outside work I have to do. It shouldn’t take too long for me to get back to SoMT but if I end up in a jam, my apologies in advance. *bows* >.<

POLL IS NOW CLOSED. STATS WILL BE POSTED UP ON THURSDAY, APRIL 16th!

Preliminary Instructions & Rules

Prelim eliminations will officially start on Friday, April 3rd and will last for 1 ½ weeks until Wednesday, April 15th (at 8:00 PM EST to be specific).

Only the top 30 girls will proceed to the main tournament.

Voting Instructions

  • You will have to complete a voting survey and you are allowed to do this survey only ONCE! No redos, no second chances, no exceptions, none. So please read the rest of the instructions carefully to avoid any mistakes.
  • For the first two questions, you are required to vote for the top 6 nominees you want to see proceed to the main tournament.
    • Question 1 (Q1): You MUST vote for no more and no less than 3 names. The girls you select for this question will receive 5 points.
    • Question 2 (Q2): You MUST vote for no more and no less than 3 names and you may NOT select the same ones you voted for in Q1 or your votes will be considered void (e.g. If you voted for Girl A in Q1 and voted for her again in Q2, then her vote in Q2 will not count and will be passed on to your next valid vote).
      The girls you select for this question will receive 4 points.
  • The next three questions are not mandatory but if you choose to, you may vote for the rest of the nominees you want to see go to the next round. The same rules that apply to the first two questions will also apply to the last three.
    • Question 3 (Q3): Select 1 to 3 nominees that you have not chosen in Q1 and Q2. The girls you submit for this question will receive 3 points.
    • Question 4 (Q4): Select 1 to 3 nominees that you have not chosen in Q1, Q2, and Q3. The girls you submit for this question will receive 2 points.
    • Question 5 (Q5): Select 1 to 3 nominees that you have not chosen in Q1, Q2, Q3 and Q4. The girls you submit for this question will receive 1 point.
  • Use the prelims chart as reference so you don’t screw up!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Explanation of the point system:

The point system has been established to prevent an over influx of votes for one particular contestant and to ensure that all other candidates will have a fair chance of getting into the main tournament. We need 30 contestants to make this a workable contest.

Once a nominee has reached or surpassed 800 points, she is immediately qualified to move on to the next round and will be taken off the prelims list. A notice will be posted when she has passed the cut and any further votes that are given to her afterwards will no longer count towards her stats.

NOTE: Votes will remain unaffected by points and vice versa until a candidate has reached the 800-point mark. Even if they do not reach the cutoff, the ones with the most votes at the end of the prelims will still be part of the top 30.

So please choose the order of your selection wisely as the points will be a major part of determining if the girl you voted for will be able to go into the next round or not. Please also keep checking the SoMT page to see if any nominee has already passed the cut so you don’t waste your vote.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

RULES

  • The most important one of all: Read through everything (the instructions, the rules, the survey, etc) carefully. And I mean, everything.
  • Please do not select more than 3 girls for each question. If you do so, only the first three valid votes that are shown on each separate list will receive those votes. The rest will be void.
  • You may NOT repeat the votes you already gave for one competitor in a previous question. Otherwise, your repeated votes will not count and will be passed on to the next valid choice on that respective list.
  • Please vote fairly and let the girls compete fairly. I will NOT tolerate any form of cheating. If you cheat excessively, your entire survey will be rejected. If it comes to the point where I can’t control it, I will either eliminate that competitor from the tournament or if worst comes to worst, I’ll shut this whole thing down. This is a contest made by a fan and not going in any official books except for ěk-sěn’trĭk’s archives. So be smart and don’t make me or the rest of the fans out there angry just because you want a certain girl to win.
  • Commenting: This will be in every set of rules for every single round. You are allowed to give as much support to a contestant as much as you want (to a reasonable degree). You are allowed to critically compare her with her opponent(s) as long as you do it civilly and have legitimate reasons to back your argument up. But any kind of childish bashing towards any of the contestants or other commenters will be marked as spam.
    I would very much appreciate it if we can avoid this problem. People are going to have different opinions and different candidates they will support. Please respect that. If you must be a fanbrat, then do it somewhere else where I can’t see you. I don’t want ridiculous immature remarks or wars littering all over my comments.
  • If you have any questions regarding anything about the tournament, please don’t hesitate to leave it in a comment or email me at eksentrick.xiaojie@gmail.com. I will try my best to reply back to you as soon as I can.
  • When you finish reading the rules, click here.
  • Have fun voting and enjoy the tournament! ^^

Hmm, is that all? I hope I didn’t miss anything. I will be putting up a stats page when I receive enough votes to show the progress so far so keep checking back to see how everyone’s doing.

Ok~…so…

14 thoughts on “SoMT ’09 Preliminaries

  1. Yay!
    1st comment!

    Really enjoy the voting very much-desu! ^^

    Oh yeah, where can I see the result of voting?

  2. Woo! And so it begins~

    I’m wondering if I want to vote now or later~ Most of the girls I want to get in the most are pretty much guaranteed to get in. I’m worried about some of the other moe girls (like poor Tsubomi from a 3 episode OVA).

    Oh well. It’s best to vote according to your own heart. I’ll do my voting soon. Though…even if I vote for all my favorite girls, the order in which I choose them might not be completely accurate.

    Oh yes and I can do another promotion post now! (Ah I love easy posts that have a good purpose~). Just to make sure that no one who was interested forgot. I will pester everyone until they all vote. Muahahaha

  3. I hate double-commenting, but I have some despair to share. I somehow forgot my rabu angeru until the third question. *despair* Eru~ I’m sorry.

    The rest of it all went well though. It was so easy~ I was curious about how it was going to proceed and I have to say that I loved it. Fun~ (Aww…now I can’t vote again until the preliminaries are over…)

  4. Aww, no need to be worried. Tsubomi has quite a few supporters already. ;)

    Yay! I can’t wait to see your promo post (and then glomp-tackle you and thank you another million times again cuz it’s fun~, lol xD)

    & aww (again). Don’t despair. Eru will surely get in. Besides, after the prelims are done, all their points and votes will be scraped anyway so everyone starts off fresh. You can go into full Eru-POWAH! then. XDD

    I’m glad you thought it was easy (I guess I just thought my reptitive rules made me think it’s hard or something, heh ^^; ) and that you thought it was fun. Yes! My first goal has been succeeded! *happy!* x3

    & it’s only going to be just…12 more days. And they’ll go by fast (I really hope so cuz I want to get my presentation projects done and over with o.O; ).

  5. @7: Thanks (embarrassed)

    Voting was fun. I managed to pick all the girls in the shows I watched that I felt were the most moe. I can already guess a few who will defintely make prelims.

  6. Pingback: Simplicity » Shoujo-Only Moe Tournament…START~

  7. I voted. It was really neat. You sure put a ton of hard work into it. I can’t wait to see who makes it!

  8. That was hard, I thought I was hurting the girls. Oh, damn, it hurts to pick only 3!!

    It’s easy to tell some of the girls who are going to make it xD

    Anyway, hope it has a lot of voters. Good luck with it : D

  9. Oh, that was awesome!! Sad that I can’t vote again, but it was tough just voting for three. But my girls deserved it, and I will be waiting to see them in the real tournament! Good Luck with the tournament, Xiao Jie!!!

Comments are closed.