~*~ S. o. M. T. 2009 ~*~

Ladies and gentlemen! And all you moe fangirls and fanboys out there who have been waiting for this moment! I, Xiao Jie, the mistress of ěk-sěn’trĭk, finally declare the first unofficial Shoujo-only Moe Tournament

OPEN!!!!!!!!!!!!

…Ok, if you were really gullible enough to fall for that small, lame attempt at an April Fool’s Joke on Twitter, I’d seriously have to slap you. xD; I was actually planning to pull some bigger joke like that since I’m never good at fooling people (I’m too nice and would feel bad afterwards) but eh, didn’t feel like doing it after all.

But all joking aside…

*SCREAMS/CHEERS/CONFETTI/BALLOONS/FIREWORKS/
EXPLOSIONS*

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!111one

Woot! I can’t believe it’s finally here. It’s been what? More than a month since I first announced this? Yes, no? Ack, who cares? It’s finally here! It’s finally here! It’s finally here! *jumps all over the place* xDDD

And most importantly, just as I have always planned it, it’s on everybody’s favorite MOE of all MOE girl’s birthday!

お誕生日おめでとう!!!
Otanjoubi omedetou!!!
HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SAKURA-CHAN~!!!
<333

…I had to have it start on this day. Nothing would have been more appropriate than to honor THE ultimate epitome of cuteness for everything she’s given to the animanga world. This tournament wouldn’t even be happening if it weren’t for her. So…BOW DOWN TO YOUR GODDESS AND PAY YOUR TRIBUTES, YOU INCOMPETENT MORTALS!

ALL HAIL SAKURAAAAAAA~~~~!!!!!!

m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m m(_ _)m

…Kehe. xD;

Alright, now that my CAP-locking fun is all out of the way, let’s cut to the chase.

I am your main host. Capiche? :P
Main host is also the person who spent hours and hours of sleep-deprived days and nights working this project up to what it is now. Main host is a college student with no life who should be focusing on studying for her LAW exam tomorrow. Main host is about to go crazy because there are too much stuff going on at the same time right now. Main host is…

…not going to say much else about herself so she’s going to introduce her other co-hosts before resuming studying.

So first! A warm welcome and standing ovation for Xiao’s most favorite and the most awesomest FIERCESS! on the face of the blogosphere! The fabulous diva queen of the godly blog known as METANORN, home of the wonderful “Anime’s Next Top Model” competition that has greatly contributed to the inspiration of SoMT and everything that encompasses the definition of all FIERCE!ness:

KANZEON

Next! The girl who was the first to nag encourage me continuously towards creating a blog of my own and thus, allowing me to let the pre-idea for SoMT take form into ěk-sěn’trĭk’s biggest feature. The tsundere blogging idol sensation who has recently celebrated her blog’s, Simplicity, first anniversary. Xiao’s amazing sempai and dear fellow fangirl:

FUYUMAIDEN

Finally…the guy who I’ve spent quite a considerable amount of time chatting with over Gmail on probably everything except anime (ha, is it so ironic? xD; ). Author of ∑Xce7ion and master-lord of the Kokidokom Domain. Mr. “Anonymous”, as I dub him, with the 7 different (extremely WEIRD) personalities all housed within his one being. The remarkable dude I always see constantly lending a helping hand to others on computer/site-related problems as well as the enormous jerk who slapped with me a whale in IRC (to which I returned the favor by mauling him over with Saturn):

7

Don’t mind his icon. He really is a guy (and just wants to be a girl trap :P)…don’t really know the exact percentage (eh, 60-70 something %, I guess?) but he’s a guy alright. xD;

Argh! My descriptions do them no justice. *is typing this in the middle of her marketing class right now* But they are simply AWESOME. I really, really couldn’t have done this without their help and support. For what has got to be the umpteenth of the umpteenth time, THANK YOU SO MUCH GUYS!!! <3333

It really is an honor to have them as my co-hosts and…yea……ok, I’m stuck so let’s quickly move on to see what they have to say about what’s MOE to them. *first failure* |D;

kanzeon:

Hello everyone, this is Kanzeon from Metanorn, which is the home of Anime’s Next Top Model. Since Anime-NTM was a modeling competition and it relies more on the fierce factor, being a judge on this contest will be a challenge and I’m excited to work my role in here along with the others *snaps fingers*. This one’s a MOE tournament. But what moe? Glasses Moe? Tsundere Moe? Is there any kind of specification or characteristic? I am looking for a one-of-a-kind moe that is shining upon a character in the Shoujo area. So yes, this tournament should reveal which girl has the characteristics of “SHOUJO MOE”, and how would we know which girl is most fitting to represent “Shoujo Moe”? She should be natural. I’m also looking for a girl which has a great commercial appeal, since I know that this tournament would be for the fans themselves, the character should be likable, and simply adorable in her own, unique way. If you don’t have it, sorry girl, go and run away home to your mommy. Don’t waste the time of the fiercess, yours truly.

As expected of kanzie. So ruthless and coool~! 8D

FuyuMaiden:

I’d say the minimum requirement for being moe in my eyes is something…cute. I think that’s what makes makes it appeal to both boys and girls. Everyone can appreciate what goes into making a character moe, looks and personality. There’s something for everyone to like!

And for me the absolute meaning of moe is…well actually our original moe princess Sakura gave the best explanation (without even talking about moe!). Hanyan~ It’s about what character makes me feel all floaty and happy. And the happier I am, the more moe they are. Sometimes it goes all the way to the extreme of wanting to steal them away for hugs~ Like fanboys supposedly get a protective big brother feeling, I suppose you could say I start considering myself a big sister.

What causes that specifically? Well, that’s sisterly love, and like all love it’s impossible to explain. I do like my “classic moe” (like Sakura~) and tsundere girls best though.

I can already see her getting ready to steal away some of our contestants for said huggle time. *slapped* |D;

Tsunderes ftw, hun. Tsundere ftw. ^ω^

7:

Whenever one talks about what Moe is, a couple of things comes to mind, one of which are so-called fetishes/attractions to some (usually female, at least for moe anyway) character you saw from anime/manga . I mean sure, maybe there’s a fetish factor to some degree but I really can’t imagine moe with just plain fetish at all; there had to be something else. Pshh..finding the ‘something else’ was a bit tougher than I thought. Asking people and doing some research didn’t do me much good, since they all had a notion of classifying that ‘something else’ as a sense to protect that moe character. I don’t…I’m a little unsure about that one. I mean, I could see why people describe moe to induce that protective feeling, but that doesn’t really describe what moe is in my case. I have my own share of moe attractions, but that doesn’t mean I feel protective of them. A little pondering and I realized that moe is much more than mere attractions and the sense to protect. I’d like to think of it simply as a a greater magnitude of adoration in conjunction of the other two definitions I mentioned. Then again, I’m a bit unsure if I used the correct diction to describe moe; I can tell you this – I’ll know moe when I see one!

I’m sure you do, 7-san. I’m sure you do.
So no need to remind you that I won’t hesitate to destroy fairly warn you if you lay a hand on my girls, right? ^^

Yep…so there you have it. My board of judges. Another round of applause for them please.

Wonderful~
So please treat my judges like the almighty gods they are well, k? ^^

And finally, last but not least, here are the approved nominees who will be participating in the prelims starting this Friday, April 3rd:

Click the pic to enlarge.

Beautiful, goregeous chart done by Fuyu-san herself. She’s so awesome. <3

Yep, so there you have it. 48 contestants! Kyaa~! I’m so happy! I honestly didn’t think I’d be able to get more than 30 and now I’m so glad I did! Thank you again to all those who submitted in nominations! I would have already dropped this if it weren’t for you guys. ^^

So again, prelims will begin this Friday, April 3rd. The rules will probably be posted up tomorrow in order to give you more time to familiarize yourselves with how the procedures are going to go. Until then, worship the chart and get the raging moe fangirl/boy within you ready. This is SHOUJO MOE, do I make myself clear?! D<

(cough) < — can’t use asterixes for some reason -.-;

K, Xiao, signing off.

(faints)

x.X;;

11 thoughts on “~*~ S. o. M. T. 2009 ~*~

  1. :O
    Yay~
    It’s open~!
    And happy birthday to our wonderfully adorable Sakura. <3 Tee-hee, I just noticed. “Hoe” rhymes with “Moe”. I’m so happy with myself right now :O

  2. ZOMG! It’s here! IT IS HERE! *Fangirls over the whole thing and joins in confetti throwing* And haaappy birthday Sakura-chan! XD The cutest of the cute!

  3. Haha, I fell for it, but I looked at my RSS feed reader, and it said you had a new post, lol.

    Yay for SoMT’s GRAND OPENING!!! xD I wanted to nominate a couple contestants, but thankfully they were all covered. :3

    And happy birthday Sakura-chan!! *glomps and huggles*

    And the picture is so awesome, it looks so….official! xD

    Oh no! *fans Xiao_Jie*

  4. DON’T DIE!

    * cough*

    It’s open. Cool.

    I fell for it too honestly.

    heh trap

    I liked Kanz, Fuyu and 7’s definations of Moe. It was interesting.

    “It’s about what character makes me feel all floaty and happy”
    So true.

    The chart is awesome. So professional~

    And Happy Birthday to Sakura-chan.

  5. Wooo! Sakura~! She’s going to the official…mascot isn’t the right word (since Sakura is no one’s mascot) but the guardian (oooo I like that) of SoMT now, right?

    And a very happy birthday to her!!! *confetti everywhere* April Fools needs to surrender and move to another day so April 1st can be international moe goddess Sakura day!!!

    And indeed all of the girls will be stolen away for huggles time! Unless they can all supply me with copies of themselves in adorable plushie form (Eru you can be first!).

    And the chart met my minimum requirement for success it seems. I can still recognize all the girls in the smaller size. Yay~ I didn’t fail~

    Yeah! Now let’s get this thing started! (I’m totally doing another promotion post on Friday…strike them again when they can run off and vote right away!)

    Now then! You! Get up! You’ve worked too hard for this not to enjoy it! (lol, All of my support comes in the form of scolding these days…)

  6. YES! 8D I am PUMPED. Can’t wait till tomorrow!

    Oh dears. .___. Don’t faint on us now! *runs around in circles* We need the awesomesauce main host to not be unconscious! D:

  7. Fuyu really outdone herself with that lovely chart. :) <3 I can’t wait to see how this turns out. ^^ Keep up the good work Xiao. ^^

  8. Wow. All the contestants seem so fitting but then again, only one can be reigned at SoMT. XD

    I’m really looking forward to what happens in the tournament ;)

  9. Pingback: Simplicity » Shoujo-Only Moe Tournament…START~

  10. Yay!! Been reading your blog, and have been excited for the SoMT Tournament!!

    No Idea who to vote for, though…And Happy Birthday, Sakura-Chan!!! She is the QWEEN of Shoujo and Moe.

    And very nice speeches!!

    And very nice work on the Preliminaries Chart, Fuyu!!

    *Excitedness!!!*

Comments are closed.